Connect with us

TalkMedia Africa

Burna Boy, Flavour, Seyi Shay, Chidinma, Phyno, Iyanya, Olamide and Waje for Coke Studio Season 2


Burna Boy, Flavour, Seyi Shay, Chidinma, Phyno, Iyanya, Olamide and Waje for Coke Studio Season 2

coke studio africa logo

Coca-Cola has unveiled a list of artists that will take part in Coke Studio Season 2 after the successful launch of the debut season which saw artists from Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Nigeria collaborate to create musical fusions. This season promises to take the show to a new level with Mozambique joining the bandwagon to bring more diversity into the production. The one-of-a-kind teen centric music show brings together artists from different genres and regions to create a modern, unique and authentic African sound.

Popular artists from Nigeria including Burna Boy, Flavour, Seyi Shay, Chidinma, Phyno, Iyanya and Olamide, together with Waje from last season, will come together to participate in Season 2. East African artists will include Kenya’s Fena Gitu, Rabbit, Victoria Kimani and Jay A. Tanzania’s Joh Makini and Shaa will be representing their country while neighboring Uganda will present Navio and Jackie Chandiru as well as Lillian Mbabazi, who took part in the maiden season. Neyma and Jose Valdemiro will represent Mozambique. 

“Music is one way Coca-Cola brings Africa together regardless of race, religion, economic status, language or gender. Through Coke Studio, we have the rare opportunity to not only bring Africa’s artists together, but also create a modern sound that will appeal to teens,” said Ahmed Rady, Coca-Cola Central, East and West Africa Business Unit Marketing Director. “We hope to connect with our teens and provide them with a firsthand unforgettable music experience,” he explained.

Speaking at the contract signing and unveiling session, popular Kenyan musician Rabbit said that he was excited to be part of Season 2 of the show. “It is a privilege for me to be chosen by Coca-Cola to be part of this great music production. I hope to make it worthwhile for both myself and my fans.”

Season 1 saw 24 artists from eight countries create over 46 songs. They included Grammy award winners Salif Keita from Mali and King Sunny Ade from Nigeria. Other popular artists who took part were MI, Waje, Jimmy Jatt and Bez from Nigeria; Octopizzo, Miss Karun andJust a Band from Kenya; Hip Hop Pantsula and Tumi from South Africa; Boddhi Satva from the Central African Republic; Diamond Platinumz and Lady Jaydee from Tanzania; Joel Sebunjo, Qwela and Lillian Mbabazi from Uganda; and the Culture Music Club from Zanzibar.

Continue Reading

Asuquo Eton founded, now one of the most visited TV, music, tech and features website, in 2011. He is also a social media analyst, media and entertainment consultant.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

More in Home




Recent Comments


Twitter Stream

To Top