Connect with us

TalkMedia Africa

2014 BBC African Footballer of the Year Award shortlist announced


2014 BBC African Footballer of the Year Award shortlist announced


The five-man shortlist for the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2014 has been revealed.

Title holder Yaya Toure has been nominated for the sixth consecutive year, along with Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Yacine Brahimi, Vincent Enyeama and Gervinho.

The winner will be decided by fans of African football, who have until 18:00 GMT on Monday, 24 November to vote for their choice.

You can vote online here.

Or to vote for BBC African Footballer of the Year 2014 by SMS, text the number of the player you wish to vote for to +447786202008.

  • Text 1 for Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
  • Text 2 for Yacine Brahimi
  • Text 3 for Vincent Enyeama
  • Text 4 for Gervinho
  • Text 5 for Yaya Toure

Standard international text rates apply. Please check with your service provider. SMS votes are limited to one vote per mobile phone number.Terms and conditions apply.

The winner of BBC African Footballer of the Year 2014 will be revealed simultaneously on television, radio and online (including live streaming) on Monday, 1 December. The announcement of the winner will be broadcast during Focus on Africa on BBC World Service radio (Mondays to Fridays from 6:06 to 7pm WAT) and on BBC World News, DStv and StarSat channel 400 (Mondays to Fridays at 6:30pm WAT).

Vera Kwakofi, Current Affairs editor, BBC Africa says: “The BBC is very proud of its commitment to covering sport across Africa and celebrating the outstanding footballing talent from the continent. Since the BBC African Footballer of the Year award began in 1991, the competition’s reputation and popularity continues to grow in Africa and the rest of the world. The five nominees reflect another competitive shortlist and I am excited for football fans to start voting for their favourite.”

Audiences can follow the competition on BBC World Service radio on Newsday, (Mondays to Fridays between 03:00 and 08:30 GMT); Focus on Africa (Mondays to Fridays at 15:00, 17:00, 19:00 GMT; Saturdays, Sundays 19:00 GMT); Sport Today (Mondays to Fridays at 15:30 GMT), and Sportsworld(Saturdays at 15:00 GMT; Sundays at 16:00 GMT). In-depth profiles of all five players will be featured on BBC World News’Focus on Africa and Sport Today, and online at

Sports coverage on BBC World Service includes the global weekly sports show, Sportshour, and World Football. BBC Afrique (French for Africa), BBC Hausa, BBC Somali, BBC Arabic, BBC Great Lakes and BBC Swahili bring audiences commentary on English Premier League weekend matches.

Audiences can get involved by using the #BBCAFOTY hashtag.

Previous winners of the BBC African Footballer of the Year Award include: Yaya Touré (2013); Christopher Katongo (2012); André Ayew (2011) and Asamoah Gyan (2010).

Full details and T&Cs are available online, here.

Asuquo Eton founded, now one of the most visited TV, music, tech and features website, in 2011. He is also a social media analyst, media and entertainment consultant.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

More in Home

To Top